Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Opinion? Wing-t vs. spread offense.
Which of these is more succesfull in Mountain football overall?

Any opinion is welcome. Why don't teams run the wing-t anymore?
Foxtrot Wrote:Which of these is more succesfull in Mountain football overall?

Any opinion is welcome. Why don't teams run the wing-t anymore?

The Wing T is making a come back. The problem with it is if you don't have either really strong aggressive linemen or lightning fast running backs... or at least can throw it some, you will not move the ball successfully.

In Mountain Football, the spread is OK... but Mountain football comes down to one thing... who hits the hardest and keeps coming at you! I am partial to the Wishbone and a spread, myself. The Power I is not bad either.
If I was a head coach, I would incorporate the Wing T, along with the Power I and some Spread formation sets, then you throw in some I formation along with split backfield...
bigcoachallen Wrote:The Wing T is making a come back. The problem with it is if you don't have either really strong aggressive linemen or lightning fast running backs... or at least can throw it some, you will not move the ball successfully.

In Mountain Football, the spread is OK... but Mountain football comes down to one thing... who hits the hardest and keeps coming at you! I am partial to the Wishbone and a spread, myself. The Power I is not bad either.

The Wing-T is not a power offense. Your line don't have to be really strong.
Wing-T is Gap-Down-Backer. Blocking scheme is about getting angles on people and not so much whipin' them. FB type players are what you want at guards, they have to be able to get out there on Buck(pull kick-pull lead).
Wing-T teams throw some but Buck Sweep, Trap, Criss-cross, power, Down and Waggle is what most Wing-T teams do.
I would run the spread and run out of the I formation. Get the ball to athletes in space! That is the name of the game, watch the Florida Gators!