Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Weightlifting/Powerlifting is a Sport
I have been competing in Powerlifting for the past 5 years. It is an awesome sport. Individual Sports are very different from team sports, however. You have to be extremely self motivated and focused.
bigcoachallen Wrote:I have been competing in Powerlifting for the past 5 years. It is an awesome sport. Individual Sports are very different from team sports, however. You have to be extremely self motivated and focused.

Very true. It's an awesome sport, but definitely not appropriate for those who aren't willing to commit to it. It's more of a lifestyle than a sport to really be successful.
Yes. It is a year-round thing. I take off every now and then, but out of the 52 weeks in a year, I usally lift 48+ of them. Off time is good, on ocassion.

I compete in the powerlifting organization called N.A.S.A. (Natural Athlete Strength Association). They are pretty strict on form of the lifts and they have a very strict drug policy... don't use any!

There are a few guys that still seem to either be on, or had been at some point, but for the most part the lifters are all clean.

The one sneaking its way in now, though, is Human Growth Hormone(HGH). It causes even faster size/strength gains than Testosterone, and there is no test to detect it at this time. So, a guy could be jacked up on that and blow records out of the water... and test negative for steroids! :dontthink
bigcoachallen Wrote:Yes. It is a year-round thing. I take off every now and then, but out of the 52 weeks in a year, I usally lift 48+ of them. Off time is good, on ocassion.

I compete in the powerlifting organization called N.A.S.A. (Natural Athlete Strength Association). They are pretty strict on form of the lifts and they have a very strict drug policy... don't use any!

There are a few guys that still seem to either be on, or had been at some point, but for the most part the lifters are all clean.