Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pre-Season Rankings
Ram Fan04 Wrote:How many graduated from Mayfield last season?

I'm no Mayfield expert (but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night :biggrinSmile but most Cardinal fans I thought were pointing to this season 2 years ago. If my memory is right they should be a contender.
Hatz Wrote:I'm no Mayfield expert (but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night :biggrinSmile but most Cardinal fans I thought were pointing to this season 2 years ago. If my memory is right they should be a contender.

Mayfield basically lost 2 players (which were their best 2--Shelton and Murrell).

They have the following coming back:
Entire O-Line
QB (already a 3 year starter)
2 of the 3 starting running backs
All of their receiving corps

Mayfield is easily the team to beat in A.
KentuckyHillBilly5321 Wrote:Mayfield basically lost 2 players (which were their best 2--Shelton and Murrell).

They have the following coming back:
Entire O-Line
QB (already a 3 year starter)
2 of the 3 starting running backs
All of their receiving corps

Mayfield is easily the team to beat in A.

Actually, we also lost the great big Jones kid off of the line but the rest of the line returns. The 3 we lost will be hard to replace but they are going to be a very hard out. The star should be sophmore Jackson at LB and at running back. The qb is really good and will have 2 returning WR's that had big seasons last year and most importantly the line is expected to be very very good. There are a couple of backs that should be better than average to go along with Jackson. The loss of Shelton hurt in the blinding speed department but still a very fast team. I think they would have to be a favorite in the early polls to win it all.
Sounds like Mayfield is this year's version of LCA.. I believe we'll be seeing them in the State Title game.. Has Beechwood improved from last season?