Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hey Dad - Football is a Lie
I will respectfully offer a different opinion to football1. I grew up a poor kid but from good hard-working family. I absolutely loved the game. I decided I wanted to continue to play at a small college. I knew the college I was going to was a good academic school, but I went there so I could play; plain and simple. I could have went to a bigger school and not played and I would have graduated with a degree. However, because I was at the small "academic" school I was around many peers that were going to professional schools after college. I realized that I had the ability to do the same. I am a professional now. I became something more than I had ever thought I could as a teenager. This is a direct result of my love for the game. I realize that every child is not cut out to be a doctor, lawyer, or engineer. But if I can instill the love of the game into them as a volunteer coach, maybe they will love it enough to play through college and earn a degree. In my community this is one potential means to pull them out of the drug infested, poverty stricken, and unmotivated areas that they come from. The program I am a part of teaches life through football. If they never play through high school, at least they have been told about hard work, perseverance, honesty, and integrity. These are many values that some of them are not exposed to at home. I had injuries, even had surgeries as a result, but I have a life that I would never have had if not for the game of football.