Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Love is the Key
One of John Calipari's strongest statements about his teams is that they have to love each other and care about other, not themselves, but ultimately everyone else.

Calipari has said several times that this team loves each other. Here is his quote after the North Carolina win:

"Look, I've got good players. We're young and we're inexperienced, but I've got really good players. I like my team. But more importantly, they love each other. You notice, Eloy (Vargas) helped us today, Kyle (Wiltjer) helped us today, and the other six played the majority of the minutes. That's a happy locker room in there today."

The next weekend, Kentucky goes down to Indiana on their first true road test, and one of the most important members of the team doesn't show up at all.

Terrence Jones, and I am quoting Dick Vitale, ""He looked like something was bothering him. He looked totally not into the game. I've been doing games for 33 years. I can't ever remember a great player in a game where I ever had to talk about (not) playing hard. I've had guys have bad games."

There has been speculation out the wazoo of what was wrong with Terrence Jones this past Saturday, but I am over his individual performance at Indiana.

I am worried about if this team really loves each other or not.

If you look back at the 1996 championship team, a team with 9 future NBA players, there was a love for each other.

I believe Antoine Walker summed it up the best, “We all just loved to be around each other, We would go out and do everything together. That’s very hard in college. Everybody has their own thing going on. That team, from Freshman to Senior, all hung together. You need that if you want to compete for a title.”

There have been several instances where this team has given examples that they are not following Walker's theory of all hanging together.