Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
For TRACK--what type of Shoes do you Train In?
What kind of shoes do you train in for track and field?

As a coach, I am a fan of the minimalist movement--therefore--I do most of my running in either Puma H-Streets or Nike Frees.

What is everyone else wearing? (And why?)
Personally I train in heavier shoes than that so that I get adjusted to them and then when its time for a meet I wear my lightweight shoes and it helps out.
I'm not sure what everyone else is wearing but I practice in the heaviest shoes I own. As a sprinter, I use the heaviest shoes i own so that when I take them off and put on those 5-6 oz cleats, they feel even lighter than before.
Here is something else for you to think about 17--

By going with something like H-Streets--you actually strengthen your achilles (which will not only prevent injury--but it will provide a noticable difference in foot strike, which then leads to quicker turnover--which eventually equates to more speed) and you also strengthen your foot and the lower leg muscles that normal training shoes actually weaken (because the heel on these shoes is usually way to high).

The key is transition--meaning that you gradually have to go to the lighter, Less built up shoes.

This is something that some of the "elites" have been trying for a while--with increased results.
Thanks for the info, I will definately remember this! Where can I find H cleats?
The funny thing about H-Streets is that you either have to find them at a lifestyle type store (like Journey's or something like that), or somewhere else on the internet.

Here is the Puma link (you can normally find them cheaper) http://store.puma.com/pumaUSStore/produc...e&siteid=1

Nike is also coming out with a new shoe (called the Nike Daycat) that takes the Free technology further (without the huge heel that the Frees currently have).
get heavy shoes and ankle wieghts... get pass the shin splints before you do anything