Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pikeville High School Girls Head Coach position open
Who seems to be the frontrunners for this new opening? I was a fan of Coach Stewart, and she has a ton of wins in her career. I wish her luck, same as I wish PHS luck in filling her shoes.
What happened to her? Did she retire or take another job or just decide to give it up.
Basketball Guru Wrote:What happened to her? Did she retire or take another job or just decide to give it up.
As I understand it (I'm NOT 100% sure), she was told they wanted to go in a different direction with the program. She will continue to teach though.
I have a lot of respect for Coach Stuart and hope she is able to continue to help PHS be the great place it is.

I would like to thank her for all the time and energy she put in over the years, it was appreciated.

I also hope the administration has a good plan of action since the move was made. A talented group will return next season.

On, On Maroon and White!
If my math is correct she lost far more than she won.........she was fired.
lillianhidgepork Wrote:If my math is correct she lost far more than she won.........she was fired.
She had over 300 career wins, their record was 14-18 this past season (I think), true. But you don't find many girl's coaches that have 300 career wins. With Coach Stuart's class and hard work, she is a winner any way you look at it or measure it.
Hard-working, class act with over 300 wins.
Are they going to open this statewide or try to keep it in house? Are they looking for an experienced coach or look for an asistant wanting to move up? Just like other jobs, I assume it relies a lot on teaching positions. From rumors I heard at state tournament, I can think of a few quality coaches that might be interested. Does Pikeville have some talent returning this year and what does the feeder system look like, this could have some bearing on who might be interested.