Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New and wanted to know...
I have been on here a week now and kinda got a picture of the political landscape on this board. However, I do not know why people choose their alligence to one party or to another. I thought it would be thought provoking if I could hear why you like the political party that you do.

I also think it would be fair to lay down a few rules...

1. you can not tell me why the other party is so bad
2. you can only talk about the party you support (basically, here is your chance to be a cheerleader)

I will start this will be a little bit random but I try to keep my thoughts together the best that I can:

As some of you already know, I am a Libertarian. I like the idea of personal responsibility, the free market, and the government staying out of my life. Ironically, I am also a teacher:biggrin:

I like the idea that we should just protect our own country.
I am in favor of term limits in congress and a balance budget.
I think that the Fed bank manipulates the market as so does every tax break. I think that the market unmanipulated will control itself by simple supple and demand economic laws. However, I do disagree with my party. I am for high tariffs on incoming products, because the world does not play by free market rules.
I would also get rid of minimium wage.
I also think that we went out of the way of the framers intention and should go back to a sales tax.
Get rid of the IRS! Get rid of the Department of Energy, Education, Homeland Security, all big waste of money.
Instead of simplfing the systems, it seems that we complicate it with more red tape. I would also get rid of boarder security and actually put military there.
I care less if someone lives an alternative life style ( the way I see it my sins are no greater than theirs).
I also do not like religion to be preached at our schools ( just think Muslims are the fastest growing religion)