Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lawrence tops sloppy Lions (LC 4 - BC 3)
By GRANT TRAYLOR - The Independent
CANNONSBURG — Morgan Roberts knew his tank was starting to run dry.

Lawrence County’s top pitcher withstood several innings with high pitch counts and erratic control early, but managed to retire the side in the seventh inning in just seven pitches to earn a 4-3 win over Boyd County on Tuesday.

“When I started that inning, I had to get the low pitch count,” Roberts said. “Since I was a freshman, I’ve always watched big pitchers like Steve Blevins in the big games. I always wanted Boyd County and I’m glad to beat them.”

Roberts not only pitched well in tight situations, but he also made several defensive stops to keep his team in the game. The Lions hit several balls in between the mound and the corners, but each time, Roberts was able to get to the ball and make the play.

“He did a great job and he got stronger as the innings went on,” Lawrence County coach Randy Keeton said. “Defensively, he did all he could to keep us in the game and we came out ahead.”

While Lawrence County’s defense played superb with just one miscue in the field, Boyd County committed six errors that led to all four runs for Lawrence County.

“We didn’t play well at all,” Boyd County coach Ben Maynard said. “You aren’t going to beat any team committing six errors, that’s the bottom line. We shot ourselves in the foot. Give Roberts credit because his athleticism took away parts of our game.”

The big blow came in the top of the sixth inning after Boyd County had taken a 3-2 lead. An error by Greg Bowling allowed Jeff Cyrus to reach base and Cyrus promptly came around to tie the game at 3 when Tim Hayes hit a double to deep center. Hayes was thrown out trying to stretch the play into a triple.