Bluegrassrivals

Full Version: To the best team in the mountains, the Betsy Layne Bobcats
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Yes I know I am a coach at Mullins, and what I'm about to say may not be taken the best by some. However, I gradulated from Betsy Layne Grade School and High School, so as much as I love Mullins and enjoy all of the chances they have given myself and Coach Kidd the past couple of years, a part of me will always bleed blue.

I just spoke with Coach Kidd, who went down to support all of the mountain teams. I wanted to go with him this weekend, but a family emergency instead brought me to Louisville. We talked for about a hour about everything, and I wish I could have went and seen what happened for myself. From what I was told, Dylan Hamilton planned like a man among boys with refs that will let you beat and bang. He was out sized the whole tournament, even being isolated according to Coach Kidd by boys well over 6 foot tall but he never backed down and got the best of them.

However, they did fall short in the final four to Crosby (who lost in the championship game by 2 points), a Louisville grade school. Betsy Layne should not hang there heads for falling short, because how many schools can say they ever make it to the final four? It was only a four point loss too, which means on any given night either of those two teams could've beaten each other. It just wasn't meant to be though, but Betsy Layne made a run to be proud of.