Bluegrassrivals

Full Version: A Retrospective Look back at the year 1982 from an Old School Corbin Redhound
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
In 1982, I was a sophomore in college at EKU in Richmond. It was an exciting time to be in Richmond, as Corbin's Steve Bird and Pineville's Tuck Woolum was leading the Colonels to their second I-AA national championship in four seasons under Corbin native and Hall of Famer, Roy Kidd. The Colonels bested Delaware in the title game.  Bird and the Colonels also won the national title in 1979, defeating Lehigh in the championship. They were runners-up in 1980, losing a close two-point affair to Boise State. 

I had plenty of hair back then as well as a well-sculpted six-pack and a fun social life on a fun campus.  Almost forty years later, most of the hair has said goodbye, the only six-pack now resides in the refrigerator, and the social life has given way to social security.

Also, back at home in 1982, the Corbin Redhounds, under second year coach, Larry "Cotton" Adams won the AA state championship trophy, defeating a heavily-favored Fort Campbell team 16-7 in Cardinal Stadium in Louisville.   Adams had taken over in 1981 for Archie Powers, who lead the Hounds to AA state championships in 1976 and 1980 and a runner-up finish in 1977. 

Sadly, the 1982 crown was the very last one that the Redhound varsity has claimed . Thirty-nine years and not a single state title for a school and a community that boasts of being a football powerhouse and a football town. It's almost unfathomable. 

In order to gain a proper perspective on just how long ago 1982 was, let's climb aboard the time machine train and head back to '82. Mr Cox, Mr  Jewell, Mr Wilson,  Redhound Varsity Club members,  "good ol' boy"  club members...climb aboard and take the trip back in time with us.  You need the perspective!!!