Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Routers
Which Router would you all say is the fastest and most reliable?
I currently have the 30 dollar Belikin router but find that sometimes my internet runs slow while using it and sometimes it just disconnects and i lose internet for no reason and an orange light comes on when it should be green.
I have a motorola thing that the belkin connects into but its lights are always good and never has problems.
Is this a problem that can be fixed and i just have something messing up or should i get a new one.
If i do need to get a better router what would you all prefer thats a good router.
If you need to get a new router I have been using a Netgear Router for 3 years and have had no problems at all with it.
I have been using D-Link routers at home and in our business for the past several years. It has worked fantastic.
Thanks guys, i know the net gear routers are a tad higher than the belkins and ive never heard of the one sd mentioned, but for a real reliable router id give a 100+ for one. That should get me a pretty good one from what ive been told.
Of the routers that I have used (mostly D-Link, Netgear, Cisco-Linksys), I like Netgear's configuration software best. If you want to improve the range and strength of signal, then upgrading both your router and your PC to wireless-N. Wireless-N supposedly has a much better range and is several times faster than 54g.

I think that the speed and range increases for Wireless-N routers have been exaggerated some but there is no doubt that performance with a Wireless-N router and wireless card is much better than one that maxes out at 54g.

A cheaper way to improve your signal strength might be to replace the antenna on your router with one with higher gain. If the router is located in a cabinet or other place where the path between it and your computer are restricted, you might try moving it to a higher and more open location.