Bluegrassrivals

Full Version: UK offers scholarship to Indiana 9th-grader
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
By Jerry Tipton
[email]JTIPTON@HERALD-LEADER.COM[/email]

As the propriety of recruiting younger prospects gets debated nationwide, Kentucky has offered a scholarship to another high school freshman.

On Sunday, UK offered a scholarship to Jeremiah Davis III, who is completing his ninth-grade year at Muncie (Ind.) Central High School.

"I was honored," Davis said Monday about the offer. "I don't know if I'm going to take it yet. I'm still a freshman."

Indiana, Ohio State and Tennessee are among the schools that also have expressed a recruiting interest in Davis. None has yet offered a scholarship, the player's father said.

UK Coach Billy Gillispie saw Davis play in the same recent Akron, Ohio, basketball event that led to commitments from eighth-grader Michael Avery and ninth-grader Vinny Zollo. Davis played on the same AAU team, Indiana Elite.

Davis said he was not sure whether or when he might accept the UK scholarship offer. When asked whether college seemed far off into the future, he said, "Pretty far, right. I still have to go through high school first."

http://www.kentucky.com/276/story/403203.html
I think Billy G needs to look at some kids somwhere other than the Indiana Elite. Theres no way theres that much talent on one team.
colts12 Wrote:I think Billy G needs to look at some kids somwhere other than the Indiana Elite. Theres no way theres that much talent on one team.
I think we should let Gillispie look wherever he wants to look! He seems to have a better idea of what he's doing than we do.